Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 40
Thursday, October 22, 2009

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 8:34 a.m. this day, in Room Montréal C and D, Le Westin Montréal, Montréal, Québec, the Chair, Ed Fast, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Joe Comartin, Ed Fast, Hon. Marlene Jennings, Serge Ménard, Rob Moore, Rick Norlock, Daniel Petit, Brent Rathgeber and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac for Marc Lemay.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst; Dominique Valiquet, Analyst.


Witnesses: As individuals: Julian Sher, Investigative Journalist; Michel Auger, Investigative Journalist (Retired); Jean-Pierre Lévesque, Royal Canadian Mounted Police (Retired); André Noel, Journalist. International Centre for the Prevention of Crime: Margaret Shaw, Sociology and Criminology.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, February 9, 2009, the Committee resumed its study on the state of organized crime.

Julian Sher, Michel Auger, Jean-Pierre Lévesque and André Noel made statements and answered questions.


At 9:47 a.m., the Committee proceeded to sit in camera.

At 9:51 a.m., the sitting resumed in public.


At 11:22 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:34 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Margaret Shaw made a statement and answered questions.


At 12:44 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2009/10/26 1:51 p.m.