Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 24
Monday, May 25, 2009

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Ed Fast, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Joe Comartin, Hon. Ujjal Dosanjh, Ed Fast, Marc Lemay, Réal Ménard, Rob Moore, Brian Murphy, Rick Norlock, Daniel Petit, Brent Rathgeber and Brian Storseth.


Acting Members present: Hon. Marlene Jennings for Hon. Dominic LeBlanc.


Associate Members present: Megan Leslie.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst; Dominique Valiquet, Analyst; Lyne Casavant, Analyst.


Witnesses: Office of the Correctional Investigator: Howard Sapers, Correctional Investigator. Canadian Council of Criminal Defence Lawyers: William Trudell, Chair. Law Union of Ontario: Dyanoosh Youssefi, Lawyer, Steering Committee Member; Matthew MacGarvey, Lawyer, Member. As an individual: Anthony N. Doob, Professor, Centre of Criminology, University of Toronto. Correctional Service Canada: Don Head, Commissioner. As an individual: Paul Alexander, Barrister, Rosen and Company. Criminal Lawyers' Association of Ontario: Andras Schreck, Director.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, April 20, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-25, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (limiting credit for time spent in pre-sentencing custody).

Dyanoosh Youssefi, Matthew MacGarvey, William Trudell, Anthony N. Doob, and Howard Sapers made statements and answered questions.


At 4:43 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:49 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Paul Alexander, Don Head, and Andras Schreck made statements and answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee meet with members of a delegation from the Czech Republic¸ and that the Clerk make the necessary arrangements for a working dinner at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, June 1, 2009.


At 5:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2009/06/29 3:33 p.m.