Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 14
Monday, April 20, 2009

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Ed Fast, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Joe Comartin, Ed Fast, Hon. Dominic LeBlanc, Marc Lemay, Réal Ménard, Rob Moore, Rick Norlock, Daniel Petit and Brent Rathgeber.


Acting Members present: Hon. Larry Bagnell for Brian Murphy, Bernard Bigras for Marc Lemay, Hon. Hedy Fry for Hon. Ujjal Dosanjh and Mike Wallace for Brian Storseth.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Dominique Valiquet, Analyst; Robin MacKay, Analyst. House of Commons: Mike MacPherson, Legislative Clerk.


Witnesses: Statistics Canada: Lynn Barr-Telford, Director, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics; Craig Grimes, Senior Analyst, Courts Program, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics. Ontario Provincial Police: Ross Bingley, Bureau Commander, Organized Crime Enforcement Bureau. Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police: Jocelyn Latulippe, Co-Chair, Organized Crime Committee and Chief Inspector, Sûreté du Québec; Francis Brabant, Legal Advisor, Member of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police, Law Amendments Committee. Government of Québec: Randall Richmond, Deputy Chief Prosecutor of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions, Organized Crime Prosecutions Bureau, Department of Justice. Department of Justice: Matthew Taylor, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, March 26, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-14, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (organized crime and protection of justice system participants).

It was agreed, That the Committee not undertake consideration of any substantial motion during the hearings in Vancouver.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 4:56 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:05 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 5:30 p.m., the Committee proceeded to sit in camera.


The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.


At 6:03 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:04 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.


The Committee commenced its clause-by-clause study of the Bill.


The Chair called Clause 1.


After debate, Clause 1 carried.


After debate, Clause 2 carried.


Clause 3 carried.


After debate, Clause 4 carried.


After debate, Clause 5 carried.


Clause 6 carried.


Clause 7 carried.


On Clause 8,

Réal Ménard moved, — That Bill C-14, in Clause 8, be amended by replacing line 7 on page 4 to line 6 on page 5 with the following:

“offence and is liable to imprisonment for a term of not more than 14 years.”

Debate arose thereon.


The question was put on the amendment of Réal Ménard and it was negatived on the following recorded division: YEAS: Joe Comartin, Marc Lemay, Réal Ménard — 3; NAYS: Larry Bagnell, Hedy Fry, Dominic LeBlanc, Rob Moore, Rick Norlock, Daniel Petit, Brent Rathgeber, Mike Wallace — 8.


Clause 8 carried on division.


Clause 9 carried.


Clause 10 carried.


Clause 11 carried.


Clause 12 carried.


Clause 13 carried.


Clause 14 carried.


Clause 15 carried.


Clause 16 carried.


After debate, Clause 17 carried.


Clause 18 carried.


Clause 19 carried.


Clause 20 carried.


The Title carried on division.


The Bill carried.


ORDERED, — That the Chair report the Bill to the House.


At 6:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2009/06/29 3:34 p.m.