Skip to main content
Start of content

HUMA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 49
Thursday, October 8, 2009

The Standing Committee on Human Resources, Skills and Social Development and the Status of Persons with Disabilities met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Dean Allison, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, Josée Beaudin, Dona Cadman, Ron Cannan, Raymonde Folco, Ed Komarnicki, Yves Lessard, Ben Lobb, Hon. Maria Minna, Michael John Savage and Maurice Vellacott.


Acting Members present: Yvon Godin for Tony Martin.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Chantal Collin, Analyst; André Léonard, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Diane Finley, Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development.


Witnesses: Department of Human Resources and Skills Development: Paul Thompson, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Skills and Employment Branch; Karen Jackson, Associate Deputy Minister. Service Canada: Philip Clarke, Director General, Benefits Processing. United Steelworkers: Erin Weir, Economist. Canadian Labour Congress: Ken Georgetti, President. As an individual: Rosalie Washington.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, September 29, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-50, An Act to amend the Employment Insurance Act and to increase benefits.

The Minister made a statement and, with Paul Thompson, answered questions.


At 4:28 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Erin Weir, Ken Georgetti and Rosalie Washington made statements and answered questions.


At 5:27 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Georges Etoka
Clerk of the Committee

2009/12/10 3:05 p.m.