Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 45
Monday, November 23, 2009

The Standing Committee on Health met in a televised videoconference session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Joy Smith, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Colin Carrie, Patricia Davidson, Nicolas Dufour, Kirsty Duncan, Luc Malo, Cathy McLeod, Joyce Murray, Joy Smith, Tim Uppal and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Brad Trost for Patrick Brown.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Karin Phillips, Analyst; Trina Wall, Analyst.


Witnesses: As an individual: Alexander McEwan, Special Advisor on Medical Isotopes to the Minister of Health. Canadian Association of Nuclear Medicine: Jean-Luc Urbain, President. Canadian Medical Association: Anne Doig, President; Briane Scharfstein, Associate Secretary General. New Brunswick Cancer Network: Eshwar Kumar, Co-Chief Executive Officer, Department of Health New Brunswick. Ontario Association of Nuclear Medicine: Christopher O'Brien, President. European Association of Nuclear Medicine: Patrick Bourguet, President Elect, Professor of Nuclear Medicine.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed a briefing on the health implications of the supply of radioisotopes.

The witnesses, including Patrick Bourguet by videoconference from Vennes, France, made statements and answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the fifteen (15) minutes of Committee Business scheduled for today's meeting be rescheduled at the beginning of the next meeting.


At 4:15 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit for an additional fifteen (15) minutes.


At 4:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:55 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 5:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Holke David
Clerk of the Committee

2010/01/27 9:18 a.m.