Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 3
Tuesday, February 10, 2009

The Standing Committee on Health met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Joy Smith, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Colin Carrie, Patricia Davidson, Nicolas Dufour, Kirsty Duncan, Luc Malo, Cathy McLeod, Joyce Murray, Joy Smith, Tim Uppal and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Blaine Calkins for Patrick Brown.


Associate Members present: Carol Hughes.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sonya Norris, Analyst; Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst; Karin Phillips, Intern.


Appearing: Hon. Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health.


Witnesses: Department of Health: Morris Rosenberg, Deputy Minister; Alfred Tsang, Chief Financial Officer; Meena Ballantyne, Assistant Deputy Minister; Anne-Marie Robinson, Assistant Deputy Minister. Public Health Agency of Canada: David Butler-Jones, Chief Public Health Officer; James Libbey, Chief Financial Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(5), the Committee commenced consideration of the Supplementary Estimates (B) 2008-2009: Votes 1b, 5b, 20b, 25b, 35b, 40b and 45b under HEALTH referred to the Committee on Thursday, January 29, 2009.

Hon. Leona Aglukkaq made an opening statement and, with Morris Rosenberg, David Butler-Jones, Anne-Marie Robinson and Meena Ballantyne answered questions.


At 5:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Georges Etoka
Clerk of the Committee

2009/03/05 8:27 a.m.