Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 34
Thursday, June 18, 2009

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met in a televised session at 11:28 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Rodney Weston, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mike Allen, Scott Andrews, Raynald Blais, Hon. Gerry Byrne, Blaine Calkins, Randy Kamp, Yvon Lévesque, Hon. Lawrence MacAulay, Peter Stoffer, Dave Van Kesteren, John Weston and Rodney Weston.


Acting Members present: Gérard Asselin for Yvon Lévesque and John Duncan for John Weston.


Associate Members present: Jack Harris and Scott Simms.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: François Côté, Analyst.


Witnesses: Government of Nova Scotia: Paul LaFleche, Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Aquaculture; Greg Roach, Assistant Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Aquaculture. Government of New Brunswick: Hon. Rick Doucet, Minister of Fisheries; Joseph LaBelle, Project Executive, Strategic Initiatives, Fisheries. Government of Prince Edward Island : Hon. Neil LeClair, Minister, Fisheries, Aquaculture and Rural Development; Richard Gallant, Deputy Minister, Fisheries, Aquaculture and Rural Development. Government of Newfoundland and Labrador: Hon. Tom Hedderson, Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture; Alastair O'Rielly, Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Aquaculture.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, May 12, 2009, the Committee resumed its study of the crisis in the fishing industry.

Greg Roach, Hon. Tom Hedderson, Hon. Rick Doucet and Hon. Neil LeClair made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 12:57 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Julia Lockhart
Clerk of the Committee

2009/06/29 8:27 a.m.