Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 8
Monday, February 23, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 4:38 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Maxime Bernier, Robert Carrier, Bob Dechert, Daryl Kramp, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Associate Members present: Martha Hall Findlay.


Other Members present: Yves Lessard.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Bergevin, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Catherine Millar, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Conference Board of Canada: Pedro Antunes, Director of National and Provincial Forecast. Conseil national des chômeurs et chômeuses: Pierre Céré, Spokeperson. Canada Health Infoway: Richard Alvarez, President and Chief Executive Officer; Mike Sheridan, Chief Operating Officer. Canadian Labour Congress: Ken Georgetti, President; Barb Byers, Vice-President. Canadian Urban Transit Association: Bernard D'Amours, Director, Public Affairs. Association of Canadian Community Colleges: James Knight, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, February 12, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-10, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on January 27, 2009 and related fiscal measures.

Pedro Antunes, Pierre Céré, Richard Alvarez, Mike Sheridan, Ken Georgetti, Bernard D'Amours and James Knight made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 6:02 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/02/25 9:19 a.m.