Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 60
Monday, November 2, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Kelly Block, Bob Dechert, Daryl Kramp, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Pat Martin for Thomas J. Mulcair and Thierry St-Cyr for Robert Carrier.


Associate Members present: Rod Bruinooge.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers: David Collyer, President; Don Herring, President, Canadian Association of Oilwell Drilling Contractors. Philanthropic Foundations Canada: Hilary Pearson, President . Association of Canadian Community Colleges: James Knight, President and Chief Executive Officer; Terry Anne Boyles, Vice-President. Canadian Caregiver Coalition: Marg McAlister, Policy Analyst. Canadian Federation of Students (Newfoundland and Labrador): Keith Dunne, Organiser; Cameron Campbell, Campaign Coordinator. Barrett Xplore Inc.: John Maduri, Chief Executive Officer. Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada: Andrew Padmos, Chief Executive Officer; Danielle Fréchette, Director, Health Policy and Governance Support. Action Canada for Population and Development: Katherine McDonald, Executive Director. Canadian Construction Association: Bill Ferreira, Director, Government Relations and Public Affairs. Canadian Federation of Medical Students: Tyler Johnston, President; Shawn Mondoux, Vice-President, Education. Assembly of First Nations: Shawn A-in-chut Atleo, National Chief. Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec: Stéphane Duguay, Senior Economist. Financial Executives International Canada: Michael Conway, Chief Executive and National President; Grant Smith, Senior Manager of Transaction Advisory Services, Taxation, Ernst and Young. Retail Council of Canada: Diane J. Brisebois, President and Chief Executive Officer. Visual Arts Alliance: Lise Leblanc, Chair; Robert Labossière, Member and Director of Canadian Art Museum Directors' Organization. Jory Capital Inc.: Patrick M. Cooney, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2009.

David Collyer, Don Herring, Hilary Pearson, James Knight, Marg McAlister, Cameron Campbell, John Maduri, Andrew Padmos and Katherine McDonald made statements and answered questions.


At 4:53 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:59 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Bill Ferreira, Tyler Johnston, Shawn A-in-chut Atleo, Stéphane Duguay, Michael Conway, Diane J. Brisebois, Lise Leblanc and Patrick M. Cooney, made statements and, with Shawn Mondoux and Robert Labossière, answered questions.


At 6:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/11/03 12:54 p.m.