Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 59
Thursday, October 29, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 11:04 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Kelly Block, Bob Dechert, Daryl Kramp, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Josée Beaudin for Robert Carrier.


Associate Members present: Martha Hall Findlay.


In attendance: House of Commons: Travis Ladouceur, Committee Clerk. Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Association of Equipment Manufacturers: Howard Mains, consultant, Public Policy. Canadian Mental Health Association: Ruth-Anne Craig, Executive Director, Manitoba Division. Cement Association of Canada: Pierre Boucher, President and Chief Executive Officer; Steve Morrissey, Senior Policy Advisor. Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs: Robert Simonds, Fire Chief. Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation Canada: Andrew McKee, President and Chief Executive Officer; Robert Hindle, Board Member. Canadian Federation of Apartment Associations: John Dickie, President. Ontario Funeral Service Association: Patrick McGarry, Member. Ontario-Quebec Grain Farmers' Coalition: William Van Tassel, President; Leo Guilbeault, Chair (Ontario). Canadian Working Group on HIV and Rehabilitation: Martine Mangion, Manager, Episodic Disability Initiatives; John Stapleton, Principal, Open Policy. Canadian Bar Association: Elena Hoffstein, Executive Member, National Charities and Not-for-Profit Law Section; Tamra L. Thomson, Director, Legislation and Law Reform. Union of Canadian Transportation Employees: Christine Collins, National President; Michael Teeter, Advisor. Canadian Cancer Society: Daniel Demers, Director, National Public Issues Office. Enbridge Inc.: David Teichroeb, Manager, Alternative and Emerging Technologies, Fuel Cells. Aerospace Industries Association of Canada: Claude Lajeunesse, President and Chief Executive Officer; Maryse Harvey, Vice-President, Public Affairs. Canadian Electricity Association: Francis Bradley, Vice-President. REAL Women of Canada: Dianne Watts, Representative.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2009.

Howard Mains, Ruth-Anne Craig, Pierre Boucher, Robert Simonds, Andrew McKee, John Dickie, Patrick McGarry, William Van Tassel and Leo Guilbeault made statements and answered questions.


At 12:32 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Martine Mangion, John Stapleton, Elena Hoffstein, Tamra L. Thomson, Christine Collins, Daniel Demers, David Teichroeb, Claude Lajeunesse, Maryse Harvey, Francis Bradley and Dianne Watts made statements.


At 1:30 p.m., Massimo Pacetti took the Chair.


The witnesses and Michael Teeter answered questions.


At 2:06 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/12/16 2:49 p.m.