Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 52
Tuesday, October 20, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:01 a.m. this day, in the Perigrine Room, Radisson Hotel Winnipeg Downtown, Winnipeg, Manitoba, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Kelly Block, Bob Dechert, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Pat Martin for Thomas J. Mulcair.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: John Bulmer, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Travis Ladouceur, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Winnipeg Airports Authority Inc.: Catherine Kloepfer, Senior Vice-President of Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer. Association of Manitoba Municipalities: Doug Dobrowolski, President; Joe Masi, Executive Director. University of Manitoba: David Barnard, President and Vice-Chancellor; John Alho, Associate Vice-President, Government Relations. Social Planning Council of Winnipeg: Donald Benham, Senior Associate. Canadian Nurses Association: Kaaren Neufeld, President; Della Faulkner, Nurse Consultant, Public Policy. Genome Prairie: Arnold Naimark, Chairman of the Board, University of Manitoba, Faculty of Medicine, Director of the Centre for the Advancement of Medicine; Patrick Pitka, Chief Financial Officer. Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society: William Crawford, President; Ronald Stewart, Former President. Manitoba Child Care Association: Michele Henderson, President; Pat Wege, Executive Director. City of Selkirk: David Bell, Mayor; Chris Luellman, Chief Administrative Officer. Athabasca University: Lori Van Rooijen, Vice-President, Advancement; Troy Tait, Manager, Government Relations, Advancement. Canadian Federation of Students (Manitoba): Alana Makinson, Women's Commissioner, University of Manitoba Students Union; David Jacks, Resource Coordinator. University College of the North: Denise Henning, President and Vice-Chancellor; Avery Ascher, Administrative Assistant to the Vice-President, Academic.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2009.

Catherine Kloepfer, Doug Dobrowolski, David Barnard, Donald Benham, Kaaren Neufeld and Arnold Naimark made statements and, with Joe Masi, John Alho, Della Faulkner and Patrick Pitka, answered questions.


At 10:35 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:41 a.m., the sitting resumed.


William Crawford, Michele Henderson, David Bell, Lori Van Rooijen, Alana Makinson and Denise Henning made statements and, with Ronald Stewart, Pat Wege, Chris Luellman, Troy Tait, David Jacks and Avery Ascher, the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 12:08 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/12/16 2:45 p.m.