Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 44
Tuesday, September 29, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:29 a.m. this day, in the Quartz Ballroom, Matrix Hotel, Edmonton, Alberta, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bob Dechert, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Massimo Pacetti and James Rajotte.


Acting Members present: Linda Duncan for Thomas J. Mulcair.


Associate Members present: Ron Cannan.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Chief Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Travis Ladouceur, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Alberta Pulse Growers Commission: Sheri Strydhorst, Executive Director; Tom Jackson, Advisor, Zone 3. Quadrise Canada Corporation: James Murray, Senior Advisor, Government Relations; Ross Lennox, Chief Technology Officer. Alberta Chambers of Commerce: Ken Kobly, President and Chief Executive Officer; Don Oszli, Chair. Almita Manufacturing Ltd.: Lawrence Kaumeyer, President. Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta: Darcy Dupas, Representative, Dew Paws Consulting; Rose Laboucan, Chief. Kids First Parents Association of Canada: Helen Ward, President. Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada: Philip Bousquet, Senior Program Director; Eira Thomas, Member, Board of Directors. As an individual: Peter Bulkowski. Meyers Norris Penny LLP: Gordon C. Tait, Partner; Valerie Pinnock, Partner. Edmonton Social Planning Council: John Kolkman, Research and Policy Analysis Coordinator. Consulting Architects of Alberta: Vivian Manasc, Architect. Volunteer Alberta: Karen Lynch, Executive Director. United Way of the Alberta Capital Region, Success by 6: Christopher Smith, Chair; Ilene Fleming, Director. City of Edmonton: Stephen Mandel, Mayor. North American Equipment Dealers Association: John Schmeiser, Vice-President, Canadian Government Affairs. Capital Power Corporation: Tony Scozzafava, Vice-President; David Lewin, Senior Vice-President, IGCC Development. Grant MacEwan University: Alan Heyhurst, Associate Vice-President, Corporate Services. Wood Buffalo Housing and Development Corporation : Bryan Lutes, President; Tim Goltz, Consultant. County of Athabasca: Brian Pysyk, Director of Corporate Services ; Charles Ashbey, Councillor and Chairman, Budget and Finance Committee. NorQuest College: Wayne Shillington, President and Chief Executive Officer. Small Explorers and Producers Association of Canada: Gerry Gilewicz, Chairman, Finance Committee.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2009.

Sheri Strydhorst, James Murray, Ross Lennox, Ken Kobly, Lawrence Kaumeyer, Darcy Dupas, Rose Laboucan, Helen Ward, Philip Bousquet and Eira Thomas made statements and, with Tom Jackson, answered questions.


At 11:00 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:09 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Peter Bulkwoski, Gordon C. Tait, John Kolkman, Vivian Manasc, Karen Lynch, Christopher Smith, Ilene Fleming and Stephen Mandel, made statements and answered questions.


At 12:28 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:09 p.m., the sitting resumed.


John Schmeiser, Tony Scozzafava, Alan Heyhurst, Bryan Lutes, Brian Pysyk, Wayne Shillington and Gerry Gilewicz made statements and answered questions.


At 2:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2010/01/05 11:02 a.m.