Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 40
Tuesday, September 15, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bob Dechert, Daryl Kramp, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Kelly Block for Hon. Maxime Bernier, Martha Hall Findlay for Hon. John McCallum and Jean-Yves Roy for Robert Carrier.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Chief Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Travis Ladouceur, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: National Association of Friendship Centres: Peter Dinsdale, Executive Director; Conrad Saulis, Policy Director. Bioniche Life Sciences Inc.: Rick Culbert, President, Food Safety Division. Canadian Federation of University Women: Susan Russell, Executive Director. International Association of Fire Fighters: Jim Lee, Assistant to the General President, Canadian Operations. Canadian Association for Graduate Studies: Carolyn Watters, President. Canadian Trucking Alliance: David Bradley, Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2009.

Peter Dinsdale, Rick Culbert, , Susan Russell, Jim Lee, Carolyn Watters and David Bradley made statements and, with Conrad Saulis, answered questions.


At 4:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/09/16 3:02 p.m.