Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 39
Tuesday, September 15, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:01 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bob Dechert, Daryl Kramp, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Kelly Block for Hon. Maxime Bernier, Martha Hall Findlay for Hon. John McCallum and Jean-Yves Roy for Robert Carrier.


Other Members present: Linda Duncan.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Travis Ladouceur, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Pembina Institute: Timothy Weis, Director, Renewable Energy and Efficiency. Care of the Child Coalitions: Beverley Smith, Member. First Nations Tax Commission: Manny Jules, Chief Commissioner. Canadian Gas Association: Michael Cleland, President and Chief Executive Officer; Bryan Gormley, Director, Policy and Economics. Green Budget Coalition: Andrew Van Iterson, Program Manager. BMO Capital Markets: Donald Johnson, Senior Advisor. Canadian Airports Council: Jim Facette, President and Chief Executive Officer. Orchestras Canada: Katherine Carleton, Executive Director. Canadian Labour Congress: Andrew Jackson, Chief Economist and National Director, Social and Economic Policy; Hassan Yussuff, Secretary-Treasurer. Polytechnics Canada: John Davies, Chair of the Board of Directors; Nobina Robinson, Chief executive Officer. Canadian Chamber of Commerce: Shirley-Ann George, Senior Vice-President, Policy; Tina Kremmidas, Chief Economist. Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada: Deanna Groetzinger, Vice-President, Government Relations and Policy.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee commenced its pre-budget consultations 2009.

Timothy Weis, Beverley Smith, Manny Jules, Michael Cleland, Andrew Van Iterson and Donald Johnson made statements and, with Bryan Gormley, answered questions.


At 10:30 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:34 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Jim Facette, Katherine Carleton, Hassan Yussuf, John Davies, Tina Kremmidas and Deanna Groetzinger made statements and, with Andrew Jackson and Shirley-Ann George, answered questions.


At 12:01 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/09/16 3:01 p.m.