Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 32
Tuesday, June 2, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met jointly with the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology in a televised session at 9:02 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, James Rajotte, Chair of the Standing Committee on Finance, and the Hon. Michael D. Chong, Chair of the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Maxime Bernier, Robert Carrier, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay and James Rajotte.


Acting Members present: Martha Hall Findlay for Hon. John McKay and Hon. Dan McTeague for Massimo Pacetti.


Associate Members present: Cathy McLeod.


Members of the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology present: Mike Wallace, Robert Bouchard, Gord Brown, Hon. Michael D. Chong, Siobhan Coady, Mike Lake, Anthony Rota, Dave Van Kesteren, Robert Vincent, Mike Wallace and Chris Warkentin.


Acting Members present: Martha Hall Findlay for Marc Garneau and Glenn Thibeault for Brian Masse.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Bergevin, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Payments Association: Doug Kreviazuk, Vice-President, Policy and Public Affairs. Option consommateurs: Geneviève Reed, Head, Research and Representation Department; Anu Bose, Head, Ottawa Office. Canadian Federation of Independent Grocers: John Scott, President and Chief Executive Officer; François Bouchard, Treasurer. Canadian Community Reinvestment Coalition: Duff Conacher, Chairperson.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, April 2, 2009, the Committee resumed its study of credit card interchange fees and the debit payment system in Canada.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 11:00 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/06/03 11:24 a.m.