Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 14
Thursday, March 12, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:02 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Maxime Bernier, Robert Carrier, Bob Dechert, Daryl Kramp, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Martha Hall Findlay for Hon. John McCallum and Jim Maloway for Thomas J. Mulcair.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Bergevin, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Bankers Association: Nancy Hughes Anthony, President and Chief Executive Officer; Darren Hannah, Director, Banking Operations; Terry Campbell, Vice-President, Policy. Financial Consumer Agency of Canada: Ursula Menke, Commissioner; Lucie M. Tedesco, Deputy Commissioner, Executive Services. Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation: Bryan Davies, Chair of Board; Michèle Bourque, Executive Vice-President, Insurance and Risk Assessment. Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers' Association: Mark A. Nantais, President; Peter Andrews, Regional Director - Consumer Lending, General Motors Acceptance Corporation of Canada.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, February 5, 2009, the Committee resumed its study on Measures to Enhance Credit Availability and the Stability of the Canadian Financial System.

Nancy Hughes, Ursula Menke, Bryan Davies and Mark A. Nantais made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


Massimo Pacetti moved, — That the Standing Committee on Finance adopt an operational budget of $16 600 for its study on Measures to Enhance Credit Availability and the Stability of the Canadian Financial System.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to.


At 11:03 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/03/13 3:09 p.m.