Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 40
Thursday, November 19, 2009

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 9:02 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Jim Abbott, Lois Brown, Paul Dewar, Peter Goldring, James Lunney, Bernard Patry, Glen Douglas Pearson, Hon. Bob Rae and Kevin Sorenson.


Acting Members present: Serge Cardin for Francine Lalonde, Jean-Yves Laforest for Johanne Deschamps and Rob Moore for Deepak Obhrai.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: James Lee, Analyst; Allison Goody, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Chamber of Commerce: Hon. Perrin Beatty, President and Chief Executive Officer; Susanna Cluff-Clyburne, Director, Parliamentary Relations. United Steelworkers: Stephen Hunt, Director, District 3. KAIROS: Canadian Ecumenical Justice Initiatives: Connie Sorio, Program Coordinator, Asia Pacific Partnerships; Ian Thomson, Program Coordinator, Ecological Justice and Corporate Accountability.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, April 22, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-300, An Act respecting Corporate Accountability for the Activities of Mining, Oil or Gas in Developing Countries.

The Hon. Perrin Beatty made a statement and, with Susanna Cluff-Clyburne, answered questions.


At 9:54 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:55 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Stephen Hunt, Connie Sorio and Ian Thomson made statements and answered questions.


At 10:53 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Carmen DePape
Clerk of the Committee

2010/01/15 3:44 p.m.