Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 35
Thursday, October 29, 2009

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a video recorded session at 11:11 a.m. this day, in Room 209, West Block, the Chair, James Bezan, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: James Bezan, Bernard Bigras, Peter Braid, Blaine Calkins, Linda Duncan, David J. McGuinty, Christian Ouellet, Francis Scarpaleggia, Mark Warawa, Jeff Watson and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Martha Hall Findlay for Justin Trudeau, Hon. Gurbax S. Malhi for Justin Trudeau and Luc Malo for Christian Ouellet.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Wind Energy Association: Robert Hornung, President. International Institute for Sustainable Development: John Drexhage, Director, Climate Change and Energy. Pembina Institute: Matthew Bramley, Director, Climate Change. Greenhouse Emissions Management Consortium: Aldyen Donnelly, President.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, April 1, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-311, An Act to ensure Canada assumes its responsibilities in preventing dangerous climate change.

Robert Hornung, John Drexhage, Matthew Bramley and Aldyen Donnelly made statements and answered questions.


At 12:59 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:01 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 1:18 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2009/12/16 2:41 p.m.