Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 33
Thursday, October 22, 2009

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 11:10 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, James Bezan, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: James Bezan, Bernard Bigras, Peter Braid, Linda Duncan, David J. McGuinty, Christian Ouellet, Francis Scarpaleggia, Justin Trudeau, Mark Warawa and Jeff Watson.


Acting Members present: Peter Goldring for Stephen Woodworth and Alan Tonks for Francis Scarpaleggia.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Natural Resources: Carol Buckley, Director General, Office of Energy Efficiency. Department of Health: John Cooper, Director, Water, Air and Climate Change Bureau, Safe Environments Directorate. Department of the Environment: Michael Martin, Chief Negotiator, Climate Change Negotiations Office.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, April 1, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-311, An Act to ensure Canada assumes its responsibilities in preventing dangerous climate change.

Michael Martin made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

On motion of Justin Trudeau, it was agreed, — That the meetings in relation to Bill C-311 be televised when possible, except for the clause-by-clause consideration meetings.


At 12:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2009/12/16 2:30 p.m.