Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 23
Thursday, May 28, 2009

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 9:04 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, James Bezan, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: James Bezan, Bernard Bigras, Peter Braid, Blaine Calkins, David J. McGuinty, Christian Ouellet, Francis Scarpaleggia, Justin Trudeau, Mark Warawa, Jeff Watson and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Sylvie Boucher for Jeff Watson, Nathan Cullen for Linda Duncan and Peter Julian for Linda Duncan.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst.


Witnesses: Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC): Jeffrey A. Hutchings, Chair.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, February 24, 2009 and Section 129 of the Species at Risk Act, the Committee resumed the statutory review of the Act.

Jeffrey A. Hutchings made a statement.


A point of order was raised by Mark Warawa regarding comments in the opening statement about the nomination process of COSEWIC members.



The Chair ruled in favor of the point of order in that the nomination process of COSEWIC members is outside the scope of the Committee's mandate.

Whereupon, David McGuinty appealed the decision of the Chair.

The question “Shall the decision of the Chair be sustained?“ was put to a vote and the decision was overturned on the following recorded division: YEAS: Peter Braid, Blaine Calkins, Mark Warawa, Jeff Watson, Stephen Woodworth — 5; NAYS: David McGuinty, Francis Scarpaleggia, Justin Trudeau, Bernard Bigras, Christian Ouellet, Nathan Cullen — 6.


The witness answered questions.


At 10:49 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:51 a.m., the sitting resumed.


At 10:51 a.m., the Committee proceeded to sit in camera.


It was moved, — That the Committee designate June 2 and 4 for the study of Bill C-311, The Climate Change Accountability Act.


At 11:03 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:28 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Francis Scarpaleggia took the Chair.


The Committee resumed consideration of the motion “That the Committee designate June 2 and 4 for the study of Bill C-311, The Climate Change Accountability Act“.


The motion was negatived.


It was agreed, — That the Committee do now adjourn.


At 4:13 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Normand Radford
Clerk of the Committee

2009/06/30 12:50 p.m.