Skip to main content Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
2nd Session, 40th Parliament   2e session, 40e législature

Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development   Comité permanent des affaires autochtones et du développement du Grand Nord
Meeting No. 39 Séance no 39
Tuesday, November 24, 2009 Le mardi 24 novembre 2009
8:35 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. 8 h 35 à 21 heures
Iqaluit, NU   Iqaluit, NU
Frobisher Inn, Astro Hill Terrace, Baffin Room   Frobisher Inn, Astro Hill Terrace, Pièce Baffin
867-979-2222   867-979-2222

Orders of the Day   Ordre du jour
Northern Territories Economic Development: Barriers and Solutions Développement économique des territoires du Nord : barrières et solutions
Witnesses Témoins
8:30 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. 8 h 30 à 10 heures
Government of Nunavut Gouvernement du Nunavut
Hon. Peter Taptuna, Minister
Department of Economic Development and Transportation
 L'hon. Peter Taptuna, ministre
ministère du Développement économique et des Transports
Robert Long, Deputy Minister
Department of Economic Development and Transportation
 Robert Long, sous-ministre
ministère du Développement économique et des transports
Municipality of Iqaluit Municipalité d'Iqaluit
Elisapee Sheutiapik, Mayor Elisapee Sheutiapik, mairesse
Pangnirtung Pangnirtung
Simeonie Akpalialuk, Economic Development Officer Simeonie Akpalialuk, agent de développement économique
Nunavut Economic Forum Nunavut Economic Forum
Mark Morrissey, Acting Chair Mark Morrissey, président par intérim
10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. 10 heures à 11 h 30
Qikiqtani Inuit Association Qikiqtani Inuit Association
Glenn Cousins, Representative
Business Development and Training
 Glenn Cousins, représentant
Expansion des entreprises et formation
Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. Nunavut Tunngavik inc.
Alastair Campbell, Senior Policy Advisor Alastair Campbell, conseiller principal en politiques
Jeffrey Maurice, Fisheries Advisor Jeffrey Maurice, conseiller en pêche
1:00 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. 13 heures à 14 h 30
Peregrine Diamonds Ltd. Peregrine Diamonds ltée
Brooke Clements, President Brooke Clements, président
Nunavut Sealink & Supply Inc. Nunavut Sealink & Supply inc.
Mark Manasie, Sealift Administrator Mark Manasie, gestionnaire à la desserte maritime
Amarok Hunters and Trappers Association Amarok Hunters and Trappers Association
To be determined À déterminer
2:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. 14 h 30 à 16 heures
Nunavut Housing Corporation Nunavut Housing Corporation
Patsy Owlijoot, Acting President Patsy Owlijoot, présidente par intérim
Lori Kimball, Chief Financial Officer Lori Kimball, directrice générale financière
Nunavut Broadband Development Corporation Nunavut Broadband Development Corporation
To be determined À déterminer
Nunavut Development Corporation Société de développement du Nunavut
Brian Zawadski, Senior Business Advisor Brian Zawadski, conseiller principal d'affaires
Nunavut Tourism Nunavut Tourism
Colleen Dupuis, Chief Executive Officer Colleen Dupuis, chef de la direction
Nunavut Arts and Craft Association Nunavut Arts and Craft Association
Rowena House, Executive Director Rowena House, directrice générale
Arctic Co-operatives Limited Arctic Co-operatives Limited
Nicole Sikma, Member
Board of Directors
 Nicole Sikma, membre
Conseil d'administration
Stéphane Daigle, Regional Manager
Regional Office - Nunavut
 Stéphane Daigle, directeur régional
Bureau régional - Nunavut
Nunavut Arctic College Collège de l’Arctique du Nunavut
Daniel Vandermeulen, President Daniel Vandermeulen, président
Baffin Regional Chamber of Commerce Chambre de commerce régionale de Baffin
Chris West, President Chris West, président
7:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. 19 h 30 à 21 heures
Baffin Business Development Corporation Baffin Business Development Corporation
To be determined À déterminer
Keewatin Business Development Centre Keewatin Business Development Centre
To be determined À déterminer
Le greffier du Comité
Graeme Truelove (613-996-1173)
Clerk of the Committee
2009/11/24 12:59 p.m.   2009/11/24 12 h 59