Skip to main content Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 38
Thursday, November 19, 2009

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development met at 8:34 a.m. this day, in the Copper Room, Yellowknife Inn, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, the Chair, Bruce Stanton, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Larry Bagnell, Rob Clarke, Earl Dreeshen, John Duncan, Yvon Lévesque, LaVar Payne, Greg Rickford, Todd Norman Russell and Bruce Stanton.


Acting Members present: Dennis Bevington for Jean Crowder and Roger Gaudet for Marc Lemay.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: James Gauthier, Analyst.


Witnesses: Government of the Northwest Territories: Hon. Floyd Roland, Premier; Hon. Michael Miltenberger, Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance and Environment and Natural Resources; Peter Vician, Deputy Minister, Department of Industry, Tourism and Investment. Northwest Territories Association of Communities: Terry Kruger, Communications and Policy Coordinator. Alternatives North: Doug Ritchie, Member. Canadian Zinc Corporation: John F. Kearney, Chairman; Alan Taylor, Chief Operating Officer. Dezé Energy Corporation: Donald Balsillie, Chairman; Daniel Grabke, Managing Director. Tyhee Development Corporation: Hugh Wilson, Vice-President, Environment and Community Affairs. Nogha Enterprises Limited: Gilbert Cazon, Acting General Manager. North West Company: Edward Kennedy, President and Chief Executive Officer. Arctic Energy Alliance: Andrew Robinson, Executive Director. Northwest Territories Community Futures Association: Todd Noseworthy, Chairperson. Northern Territories Federation of Labour: Mary Lou Cherwaty, President. Northwest Territories Arts Council: Boris Atamanenko, Manager, Community Programs. Mine Training Society: Hilary Jones, General Manager; Ted Blondin, Director. Tuktoyaktuk Hunters and Trappers Committee: Charles Pokiak, Director. Northern Aboriginal Business Association: Darrell Beaulieu, Chief Executive Officer. Northwest Territories Metis-Dene Development Fund Ltd.: Fred Koe, Director. Akaitcho Treaty 8 Dene: Chief Steve Nitah, Chief of the Lutsel K'e Dene First Nation; Chief Ted Tsetta, Chief of the Yellowknives Dene First Nation (Ndilo).

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, March 31, 2009, the Committee resumed its study of Northern Territories Economic Development: Barriers and Solutions.

Hon. Floyd Roland, Michael Miltenberger and Peter Vician made statements and answered questions.


At 10:03 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:18 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Terry Kruger and Doug Ritchie made statements and answered questions.


At 11:40 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:03 p.m., the sitting resumed.


John F. Kearney, Alan Taylor, Donald Balsilie, Daniel Grabke, Hugh Wilson and Gilberty Cazon made statements and answered questions.


At 2:38 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:51 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Edward Kennedy, Andrew Robinson and Todd Noseworthy made statements and answered questions.


At 4:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:01 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Mary Lou Cherwaty, Boris Atamanenko, Hilary Jones, Ted Blondin and Charles Pokiak made statements and answered questions.


At 7:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:46 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Darrell Beaulieu, Fred Koe, Steve Nitah and Ted Tsetta made statements and answered questions.


At 9:12 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Graeme Truelove
Clerk of the Committee

2010/01/06 2:54 p.m.