Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 21
Tuesday, April 1, 2008

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Art Hanger, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Larry Bagnell, Blaine Calkins, Rick Dykstra, Carole Freeman, Art Hanger, Hon. Dominic LeBlanc, Derek Lee, Réal Ménard, Rob Moore and Daniel Petit.


Acting Members present: Jean-Claude D'Amours for Brian Murphy and Penny Priddy for Joe Comartin.


Associate Members present: Steven John Fletcher and James Rajotte.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst; Dominique Valiquet, Analyst. House of Commons: James M. Latimer, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada: Jennifer Stoddart, Privacy Commissioner; Lisa Campbell, Senior Legal Counsel. Canadian Internet Policy and Public Interest Clinic: Philippa Lawson, Director. Information Technology Association of Canada: Bernard A. Courtois, President and Chief Executive Officer; David Elder, Vice-President, Regulatory Law and Privacy Ombudsman, Bell Canada. Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police: Clayton J.D. Pecknold, Deputy Chief, Central Saanich Police Service; Michel Forget, Investigation Division on Economic Crime, Sûreté du Québec. As an individual: Michael Geist, Canada Research Chair, Internet and E-commerce Law, University of Ottawa. Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Barry Baxter, Inspector, Counterfeit and Identity Fraud, Commercial Crime Branch; Stephen Foster, Director, Commercial Crime Branch; Raj Kler, Corporal, Organized Crime Branch.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, January 30, 2008, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-27, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (identity theft and related misconduct).
The Committee resumed consideration of the challenge to the Chair's ruling on the motion of Dominic LeBlanc of Tuesday, March 11, 2008.

And debate arising thereon;

Whereupon, the Chair left the chair.


The Vice-Chair, Réal Ménard, took the Chair.


At 3:42 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2008/05/29 2:22 p.m.