Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 11
Tuesday, February 5, 2008

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Art Hanger, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Larry Bagnell, Blaine Calkins, Joe Comartin, Rick Dykstra, Carole Freeman, Art Hanger, Réal Ménard, Rob Moore and Daniel Petit.


Acting Members present: Guy André for Réal Ménard, Mark Holland for Derek Lee, Hon. John McKay for Hon. Dominic LeBlanc and Hon. Geoff Regan for Brian Murphy.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst; Dominique Valiquet, Analyst.


Witnesses: International Fund for Animal Welfare: Barbara Cartwright, Campaign Manager; Kim Elmslie, Campaigner. Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters: Greg Farrant, Manager, Government Relations. Canadian Federation of Humane Societies: Shelagh MacDonald, Program Director; Hugh Coghill, Chief Inspector, Ontario Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. Canadian Association for Humane Trapping: Don Mitton, Project Director. Canadian Professional Rodeo Association: Jim Pippolo, Acting General Manager .

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, November 30, 2007, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill S-203, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (cruelty to animals).

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 5:28 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerks of the Committee

2008/02/21 11:44 a.m.