Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 31
Tuesday, May 27, 2008

The Standing Committee on Health met in a televised session at 11:05 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Joy Smith, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Patrick Brown, Patricia Davidson, Steven John Fletcher, Christiane Gagnon, Susan Kadis, Luc Malo, Joy Smith, Lui Temelkovski, David Tilson and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Hon. Gurbax Malhi for Hon. Robert Thibault and Maurice Vellacott for Steven John Fletcher.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Odette Madore, Analyst; Sonya Norris, Analyst; Nancy Miller Chenier, Analyst. House of Commons: Isabelle Dumas, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Canadian Health Professionals Secretariat: Elisabeth Ballermann, Co-Chair. Canadian Health Food Association: Anne Wilkie, Vice-President, Head of Regulatory Affairs. Canadian Nurses Association: Marlene Smadu, President; Lisa Little, Acting Director, Public Policy. National Aboriginal Health Organization: Paulette Tremblay, Chief Executive Officer. Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami: Onalee Randell, Director, Department of Health and Environment. McGill Institute for the Study of Canada: Antonia Maioni, Director. Canadian Health Coalition: Michael McBane, National Coordinator. Canadian Medical Association: Brian Day, President; William Tholl, Secretary General and Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and section 25.9 of the Federal-Provincial Fiscal Arrangements Act, the Committee resumed the statutory review of the progress in implementing the “10-Year Plan to Strengthen Health Care”.

Elisabeth Ballermann, Anne Wilkie, Marlene Smadu, Paulette Tremblay, Onalee Randell, Antonia Maioni, Michael McBane and Brian Day made statements and, with William Tholl, answered questions.


At 12:54 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:55 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 12:57 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Carmen DePape
Clerk of the Committee

2008/05/29 7:39 a.m.