Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 26
Thursday, May 1, 2008

The Standing Committee on Health met at 11:05 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Joy Smith, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Patrick Brown, Patricia Davidson, Steven John Fletcher, Christiane Gagnon, Susan Kadis, Luc Malo, Joy Smith, Lui Temelkovski, Hon. Robert Thibault and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Ron Cannan for David Tilson.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sonya Norris, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Health: Michael Vandergrift, Director General, Policy, Planning and International Affairs Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch; Marc Berthiaume, Director, Marketed Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Bureau, Marketed Health Products Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch; David K. Lee, Director, Office of Patented Medicines and Liaison, Therapeutic Products Directorate; David Clapin, Branch Science Advisor, Office of Science and Risk Management, Health Products and Food Branch. Public Health Agency of Canada: Barbara Law, Interim Director, Vaccine Preventable Diseases Prevention and Vaccine Safety. University of British Columbia: Bruce Carleton, Senior Clinician Scientist, Child and Family Research Institute, BC Children's Hospital. Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care: Brent Fraser, Director, Drug Program Services Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, December 11, 2007, the Committee resumed its study on Post-Market Surveillance of Pharmaceutical Products, Prescription and Non-Prescription.

Marc Berthiaume, Brent Fraser and Bruce Carleton made statements and, with David Lee, Michael Vandergrift and Barbara Law, answered questions.


At 12:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Carmen DePape
Clerk of the Committee

2008/05/02 8:49 a.m.