Skip to main content Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 36
Monday, May 26, 2008

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met at 12:55 p.m. this day, in the Executive Airport Plaza Hotel, Richmond, British Columbia, the Chair, Fabian Manning, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Raynald Blais, Hon. Gerry Byrne, Blaine Calkins, Randy Kamp, Yvon Lévesque, Hon. Lawrence MacAulay, Fabian Manning, Bill Matthews, Scott Simms and Peter Stoffer.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: François Côté, Analyst.


Witnesses: Harbour Authority Association of British Columbia: Elizabeth McLeod, President; Art Childs, Vice President. Pacific Regional Harbour Authority Advisory Committee: Ben Mabberley, Director, Whaler Bay Harbour Authority; Linda Franz, Harbour Manager, Campbell River Harbour Authority; Lutz Budde, Director, Oona River Community Association. Steveston Harbour Authority: Bob Baziuk, General Manager; Ross Holkestad, Representative, Fishing Vessel Owners Association. Ladner Harbour Fishers' Committee: Harvey Gifford, Chair. Corporation of Delta: Nancy Cuddeford, Manager, Community Recreation Services; Hugh Fraser, Deputy Director, Engineering. Area E Gillnetters Association: Gary Williamson, Director; Mike Bennett, Member.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 14, 2007, the Committee resumed its study of the Operation and Maintenance of Small Craft Harbours.

Elizabeth McLeod and Ben Mabberly made statements and, with Art Childs, Linda Franz and Lutz Budde, answered questions.


At 2:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:08 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Hugh Fraser, Harvey Gifford, Mike Bennett and Bob Baziuk made statements and, with Nancy Cuddeford, Russ Holkestead and Gary Willamson, answered questions.


At 3:21 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Julia Lockhart
Clerk of the Committee

2008/06/03 3:00 p.m.