Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 15
Thursday, February 28, 2008

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met at 9:13 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Fabian Manning, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mike Allen, Raynald Blais, Hon. Gerry Byrne, Blaine Calkins, Randy Kamp, Gerald Keddy, Yvon Lévesque, Hon. Lawrence MacAulay, Fabian Manning, Bill Matthews, Scott Simms and Peter Stoffer.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: François Côté, Analyst.


Witnesses: As individuals: Marc Bénitah, Professor, Université du Québec à Rimouski; Rashid Sumaila, Professor, University of British Columbia.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 14, 2007, the Committee resumed its study of the World Trade Organization Negotiations on Fishing Subsidies.

Lawrence MacAulay moved, — That, with the witnesses' consent, the in camera portion of the meeting on February 26, 2008 that dealt with World Trade Organization negotiations be made public.


It was agreed, — That debate on the motion of Lawrence MacAulay be adjourned until the witnesses have responded to the Committee.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 10:43 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:45 a.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 11:00 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Julia Lockhart
Clerk of the Committee

2008/03/13 3:13 p.m.