Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 42
Monday, May 12, 2008

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:27 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Rob Merrifield, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Paul Crête, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Rob Merrifield, Thomas J. Mulcair, Hon. Garth Turner and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Diane Bourgeois for Jean-Yves Laforest, Olivia Chow for Thomas J. Mulcair, Martha Hall Findlay for Massimo Pacetti and Hon. Gurbax Malhi for Hon. John McCallum.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal Analyst; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Arab Federation: Mohamed Boudjenane, Executive Director; Amina Sherazee, Legal Counselor. As an individual: David Cohen, Immigration Lawyer. Canadian Urban Transit Association: Michael W. Roschlau, President and Chief Executive Officer; Louise Poirier, Vice President, Municipal Councils. C.D. Howe Institute: Finn Poschmann, Director of Research. Canadian Cancer Society: Rob Cunningham, Senior Policy Analyst. Canadian Institute of Actuaries: Michel Bédard, Member, Task Force on Financing of Employment Insurance. As an individual: Lorne Waldman, Immigration Lawyer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, April 10, 2008, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-50, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 26, 2008 and to enact provisions to preserve the fiscal plan set out in that budget.

Mohamed Boudjenane, Amina Sherazee, David Cohen Michael Roschlau and Louise Poirier made statements and answered questions.


At 4 : 32 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4 : 35 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Finn Poschmann, Rob Cunningham, Michel Bédard and Lorne Waldman made statements and answered questions.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2008/05/13 10:14 a.m.