Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 18
Friday, December 7, 2007

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 1:02 p.m. this day, in the Fontaine A Room, Hilton Montréal Bonaventure, Montreal, Québec, the Chair, Rob Merrifield, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rob Merrifield, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti and Thierry St-Cyr.


Acting Members present: Luc Harvey for Ted Menzies and Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac for Paul Crête.


In attendance: House of Commons: Catherine Cuerrier, Committee Clerk. Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal Analyst; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Chemical Producers' Association: Richard Paton, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Conference of the Arts : Alain Pineau, National Director. Canadian Council of Grocery Distributors: Monique Bilodeau, Vice-President, Finance and Commodity Taxation. Canadian Egg Marketing Agency: Maurice Richard, Second Vice-Chair, Quebec Director. Canadian Medical Association: Robert Ouellet, President Elect. Cement Association of Canada: Pierre Boucher, President and Chief Executive Officer. Quebec Federation of University Students: Jean-Patrick Brady, President. Magazines Canada: Robert Goyette, Chairman. Association of Canadian Airport Duty Free Operators : André Bergeron, Executive Director. Canadian Federation of Agriculture: Ron Bonnett, Second Vice-President. Fédération des femmes du Québec: Michèle Asselin, President. Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation: Bob Hindle, Director. KAIROS: Canadian Ecumenical Justice Initiatives: Jean-Luc Djigo, Representative, Quebec. Regroupement économique et social du Sud-Ouest: Pierre Morrissette, Executive Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 2:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:44 p.m., the sitting resumed.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 4:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2008/02/06 11:24 a.m.