Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 17
Friday, December 7, 2007

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:00 a.m. this day, in the Fontaine A Room, Hilton Montréal Bonaventure, Montreal, Québec, the Chair, Rob Merrifield, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rick Dykstra, Rob Merrifield, Massimo Pacetti and Thierry St-Cyr.


Acting Members present: Luc Harvey for Ted Menzies and Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac for Paul Crête.


In attendance: House of Commons: Catherine Cuerrier, Committee Clerk. Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal Analyst; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: BIOTECanada: Peter Brenders, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Association of Research Libraries: William Curran, Director of Librairies, Concordia University. Canadian Institute for Neutron Scattering: Dominic Ryan, President. Catholic Women's League of Canada: Lorette Noble, National President. Independent Media Arts Alliance: Jennifer Dorner, National Director. Regional County Municipality of Montmagny: Pierre Thibaudeau, Mayor of St Fabien de Panet. National Council of Women of Canada : Catharine Laidlaw-Sly, Policy Advisor. Bioniche Life Sciences Inc.: Rick Culbert, President, Food Safety Division. Air Transport Association of Canada: Sam Barone, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Olympic Committee: Alex Baumann, Executive Director, Road to Excellence Program. XXXXXHoffman-La Roche Ltd.: Jim Hall, Vice-President, Sales and Marketing. Mouvement pour les arts et les lettres: Lorraine Hébert, Executive Director, Regroupement québécois de la danse. Réseau SOLIDARITÉ Itinérance du Québec: Nathalie Rech, Coordinator. Tax Executives Institute, Inc.: Munir A. Suleman, Vice-President, Canadian Affairs.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 10:26 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:38 a.m., the sitting resumed.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 12:01 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2008/02/06 11:24 a.m.