Skip to main content Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 6
Tuesday, December 4, 2007

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a televised session at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Bob Mills, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bernard Bigras, Hon. John Godfrey, Luc Harvey, Marcel Lussier, David J. McGuinty, Bob Mills, Hon. Geoff Regan, Francis Scarpaleggia, Maurice Vellacott, Mark Warawa and Jeff Watson.


Acting Members present: David Christopherson for Nathan Cullen.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sam Banks, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. John Baird, Minister of the Environment.


Witnesses: Department of the Environment: John H. Carey, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Science and Technology Branch; Michael Horgan, Deputy Minister; Michael Martin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch; Basia Ruta, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Finance and Corporate Branch; Ian Shugart, Associate Deputy Minister; Cynthia Wright, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Stewardship Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 22, 2007, the Committee commenced its study of Environment Canada Budget and the Department's expenditure plans contained in the Supplementary Estimates (A) 2007-2008 and the effectiveness of their implementation.

The Minister made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


Mark Warawa moved, — That this Environment Committee call on all major emitting countries to accept caps to reduce greenhouse gas emissions to fight climate change.



The Chair ruled the proposed motion inadmissible in that the proposed motion was not relevant to the Orders of the Day and required a twenty four hour notice pursuant to the routine motion adopted by the Committee at its meeting of November 15, 2007, regarding notices of motion.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Bernard Bigras moved, — That the Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development, through its Chair, write to the Environment Minister to express the Committee’s desire to see him, on the occasion of the 13th Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, make a commitment to ensure an absolute reduction in greenhouse gas emissions of 20% below 1990 levels by 2020, and accept Europe’s invitation to cut emissions by 30% if the other developed countries also accept.

Debate arose thereon.


At 5:32 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:11 p.m., the sitting resumed.


On motion of Bernard Bigras, it was agreed on division, — That the Committee do now adjourn.


At 6:22 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Normand Radford
Clerk of the Committee

2008/09/22 3:47 p.m.