Skip to main content Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 23
Tuesday, April 1, 2008

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a televised session at 3:34 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Bob Mills, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, Hon. John Godfrey, Luc Harvey, Marcel Lussier, David J. McGuinty, Bob Mills, Hon. Geoff Regan, Francis Scarpaleggia, Maurice Vellacott, Mark Warawa and Jeff Watson.


Acting Members present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett for Francis Scarpaleggia.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tim Williams, Analyst; Sam Banks, Analyst. House of Commons: Joann Garbig, Legislative Clerk.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, October 16, 2007, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-377, An Act to ensure Canada assumes its responsibilities in preventing dangerous climate change.

The Committee resumed clause-by-clause consideration on Clause 10, as amended.

Mark Warawa moved, — That Bill C-377, in Clause 10 , be amended

(a) by replacing line 33 on page 4 with the following:

“the Minister may, at his or her discretion, prepare a statement setting out”

(b) by replacing line 37 on page 4 with the following:

“plan are being met, including the targets in the Government of Canada's Turning the Corner plan and measures taken”

(c) by replacing lines 39 and 40 on page 4 with the following:

“(i) the Framework announced on March 10, 2008,”


By unanimous consent, the amendment was withdrawn.


Debate resumed on clause 10, as amended.


Nathan Cullen moved, — That there be a maximum time limit of two minutes debate per member of Parliament on each remaining clause and part of Bill C-377.



The Chair ruled the proposed motion inadmissible in that it had been moved on a point of order and the Committee was already on Clause 10.


Whereupon, Nathan Cullen appealed the decision of the Chair.

The question: "Shall the decision of the Chair be sustained?" was put and the decision was overturned on the following recorded division: YEAS: Maurice Vellacott, Mark Warawa, Jeff Watson — 3; NAYS: Carolyn Bennett, Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, John Godfrey, Marcel Lussier, David J. McGuinty, Geoff Regan — 7.


Whereupon debate arose on the motion of Nathan Cullen.


At 5:20 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:42 p.m., on Wednesday, April 2, 2008, the sitting resumed.


Mark Warawa raised a question of privilege to the effect that overruling the Chair on matters that are clearly set out in usual procedure and practice constitutes disorder and misconduct which impinges on Members abilities to carry out their duties.


Whereupon, the Chair took the question of privilege under advisement.


By unanimous consent, the Committee adjourned the debate on the motion of Nathan Cullen and resumed debate on Clause 10 of the Bill.


On motion of Mark Warawa, it was agreed, — That the Committee do now adjourn.


At 5:16 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Normand Radford
Clerk of the Committee

2008/04/24 2:29 p.m.