Skip to main content Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 19
Wednesday, March 5, 2008

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 3:41 p.m. this day, in Room 536, Wellington Building, the Chair, Bob Mills, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, Hon. John Godfrey, Luc Harvey, Marcel Lussier, David J. McGuinty, Bob Mills, Hon. Geoff Regan, Francis Scarpaleggia, Maurice Vellacott, Mark Warawa and Jeff Watson.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sam Banks, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst. House of Commons: Joann Garbig, Legislative Clerk.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, October 16, 2007, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-377, An Act to ensure Canada assumes its responsibilities in preventing dangerous climate change.

The Committee resumed its clause-by-clause study of the Bill.


On Clause 10,

Nathan Cullen moved, — That Bill C-377, in Clause 10, be amended by adding after line 11 on page 5 the following:

“(c) the level of Canadian greenhouse gas emissions in each of the following ten years to be used as a baseline to quantify the reductions referred to in paragraph (b).”

Debate arose thereon.


Nathan Cullen moved, — That a five-minute limit be placed on any intervention on any clause of Bill C-377.



The Chair ruled the proposed motion inadmissible in that it had been moved on a point of order and the Committee was already seized with a question on Clause 10.


Whereupon, Nathan Cullen appealed the decision of the Chair.

The question: "Shall the decision of the Chair be sustained?" was put and the decision was overturned on the following recorded division: YEAS: Bernard Bigras, Marcel Lussier — 2; NAYS: Nathan Cullen, John Godfrey, David J. McGuinty, Geoff Regan, Francis Scarpaleggia — 5.


Whereupon debate arose on the motion of Nathan Cullen.


At 5:15 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Normand Radford
Clerk of the Committee

2008/04/10 3:45 p.m.