Skip to main content Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 45
Wednesday, May 14, 2008

The Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration met at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 213, Wellington Building, the Chair, Norman Doyle, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Colleen Beaumier, Hon. Maurizio Bevilacqua, Robert Carrier, Olivia Chow, Norman Doyle, Nina Grewal, Hon. Jim Karygiannis, Wajid Khan, Ed Komarnicki, Thierry St-Cyr and Hon. Andrew Telegdi.


Acting Members present: Ed Fast for Dave Batters and Bill Siksay for Olivia Chow.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Sandra Elgersma, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Federation of Independent Business: Corinne Pohlmann, Vice-President, National Affairs. British Columbia Chamber of Commerce: Jon Garson, Vice-President, Policy Development Branch. Canadian Restaurant and Foodservices Association: Joyce Reynolds, Executive Vice-President, Government Affairs. Status Now! - Campaign in Defense of Undocumented Immigrants: Elizabeth Lim, Lawyer, Lim Mangalji Law Group. Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada: Vikram Khurana, Director. Canadian Centre for Policy Studies: Joseph Ben-Ami, President. Inter-Cultural Neighbourhood Social Services: Andrea Seepersaud, Executive Director; Patrick Hynes, Employment Advocate, Enhanced Language Training Program. St. Joseph's Roman Catholic Church: Pierre Gauthier, Refugee Outreach Committee; Lisa Barnet. Islamic Humanitarian Service: Shafiq Hudda, Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, April 28, 2008, the Committee resumed its consideration of the subject matter of Part 6 of Bill C-50, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 26, 2008 and to enact provisions to preserve the fiscal plan set out in that budget.

Corinne Pohlmann, Jon Garson and Joyce Reynolds made statements and answered questions.


At 4:35 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:37 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Elizabeth Lim, Vikram Khurana and Joseph Ben-Ami made statements and answered questions.


At 5:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:10 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Andrea Seepersaud, Patrick Hynes, Pierre Gauthier and Shafiq Hudda made statements and, with Lisa Barnet, answered questions.


At 7:13 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:23 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 8:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2008/05/30 11:13 a.m.