Skip to main content Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
2nd Session, 39th Parliament   2e Session, 39e législature

Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration   Comité permanent de la citoyenneté et de l'immigration
Meeting No. 19 Séance no 19
Tuesday, April 1, 2008 Le mardi 1 avril 2008
1:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. 13 heures à 18 heures
Edmonton, Alb.   Edmonton, Alb.
The Fairmont Hotel MacDonald   The Fairmont Hotel MacDonald
Empire Ballroom   Salle de bal Empire
10065-100th Street   10065, rue 100th
(780) 424-5181   (780) 424-5181

Orders of the Day   Ordre du jour
1. Undocumented and Temporary Foreign Workers
1. Travailleurs sans-papiers et travailleurs étrangers temporaires
Witnesses Témoins
1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. 13 heures à 14 heures
Edmonton Mennonite Centre for Newcomers Edmonton Mennonite Centre for Newcomers
Jim Gurnett, Director Jim Gurnett, directeur
Alberta Federation of Labour Alberta Federation of Labour
Yessy Byl, Temporary Foreign Worker Advocate Yessy Byl, porte parole pour les travailleurs étrangers temporaires
Ukrainian Canadian Social Services Ukrainian Canadian Social Services
Bill Diachuk, President Bill Diachuk, président
2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. 14 heures à 15 heures
LEDCOR Group of Companies LEDCOR Group of Companies
Ron C. Nalewajek Ron C. Nalewajek
TC Hunter TC Hunter
Trevor Mahl, President Trevor Mahl, président
Sunterra Meats - Innisfail Sunterra Meats - Innisfail
Miles Kliner Miles Kliner
3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. 15 heures à 16 heures
Alberta Federation of Labour Alberta Federation of Labour
Gil McGowan, President Gil McGowan, président
Catholic Social Services Catholic Social Services
Alice Colak, Chief Operating Officer
Immigration and Settlement Service
 Alice Colak, directrice de l'exploitation
Services d`immigration et d`établissement
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers - Local 424 Fraternité internationale des ouvriers en électricité - Local 424
Al Brown, Assistant Business Manager Al Brown, assistant directeur des opérations
William Begemann, Assistant Business Manager William Begemann, assistant directeur des opérations
United Food and Commercial Workers Union United Food and Commercial Workers Union
Michael Toal, Representative
Local 1118
 Michael Toal, représentant
Local 1118

2. Immigration Consultants
2. Consultants en immigration
4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. 16 heures à 17 heures
Witnesses Témoins
As individuals À titre personnel
Lynn Gaudet, Immigration Consultant Lynn Gaudet, consultante en immigration
Tanveer Sharief, Immigration Consultant
Commissioner for Oath, Immigration Plus
 Tanveer Sharief, consultant en immigration
commissaire à l'assermentation, Immigration Plus
Peter Veress, Founder and President
Vermax Group Inc.
 Peter Veress, fondateur et président
Vermax Group Inc.
Le greffier du Comité
Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin ((613) 995-8525)
Clerk of the Committee
2008/04/01 10:57 a.m.   2008/04/01 10 h 57