Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 4
Monday, November 26, 2007

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, James Bezan, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Alex Atamanenko, André Bellavance, James Bezan, Guy Lauzon, Larry Miller, Jean-Yves Roy, Hon. Carol Skelton, Lloyd St. Amand, Paul Steckle and Brian Storseth.


Acting Members present: Hon. Geoff Regan for Ken Boshcoff.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Jean-Denis Fréchette, Principal; Mathieu Frigon, Analyst.


Witnesses: Fédération des producteurs de bovins du Québec: Michel Dessureault, Chairman; Vincent Cloutier, Assistant Secretary. Fédération des producteurs de porcs du Québec: Jean-Guy Vincent, President; Nathalie Hansen, Public and governmental relations, Communications Services. Canadian Meat Council: Jim Laws, Executive Director. Canadian Pork Council: Stephen Moffett, Director; Curtiss Littlejohn, Director. Maple Leaf Foods Inc.: Rory McAlpine, Vice-President, Government and Industry Relations. Canadian Cattlemen's Association: Brad Wildeman, Chair; John Masswohl, Director, Governmental International Relations.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), and on motion adopted by the Committee on November 19th, 2007, the Committee commenced its study on the Collapse of the Beef and Pork Sector Revenues.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 5:36 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee

2007/12/20 9:01 a.m.