Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 15
Thursday, February 14, 2008

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 9:05 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, James Bezan, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Alex Atamanenko, André Bellavance, James Bezan, Ken Boshcoff, Hon. Wayne Easter, Guy Lauzon, Larry Miller, Hon. Carol Skelton, Lloyd St. Amand, Paul Steckle and Brian Storseth.


Acting Members present: Marcel Lussier for Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac.


Associate Members present: John Williams.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Frédéric Forge, Analyst; Jean-Denis Fréchette, Principal.


Witnesses: Canola Council of Canada: JoAnne Buth, President. University of Lethbridge: Kurt Klein, Professor, Department of Economics. Canadian Cattlemen's Association: Travis Toews, Vice-Chair, Foreign Trade Committee.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, February 1st, 2008, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-33, An Act to amend the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999.

On motion of André Bellavance, it was agreed, — “That not withstanding the motion adopted February 12th, the Committee meets at 3:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. on February 25th instead of 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.”.


JoAnne Buth, Dr. Kurt Klein and Travis Toews made statements and, answered questions.


Guy Lauzon moved, — “That the Committee report immediately the Bill C-33 without amendments ”.


The question was put on the motion and the result of the vote was announced: YEAS: Guy Lauzon, Larry Miller, Carol Skelton, Brian Storseth — 4; NAYS: Alex Atamanenko, André Bellavance, Wayne Easter, Marcel Lussier — 4.

Whereupon, the Chair voted in the negative.

Accordingly, the motion was negatived.


At 11:01 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee

2008/02/19 9:31