Skip to main content Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 23
Wednesday, April 9, 2008

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Barry Devolin, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Harold Albrecht, Rod Bruinooge, Rob Clarke, Jean Crowder, Barry Devolin, Nancy Karetak-Lindell, Tina Keeper, Marc Lemay, Yvon Lévesque, Hon. Anita Neville, Todd Norman Russell and Chris Warkentin.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mary Hurley, Analyst; Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst.


Witnesses: Donovan & Company: Fabian Alexis, Okanagan Indian Band; Allan Donovan, Lawyer. Ackroyd LLP: Rosalind Callihoo, Michel First Nation; Doris McDonald, Aseniwuche Winewak Nation of Canada. Olive Waller Zinkhan & Waller LLP: Raymond Chaboyer, Councillor, Cumberland House Cree Nation; Tom Waller, Lawyer. Canadian Bar Association: Christopher Devlin, Former Chair, National Aboriginal Law Section. Indigenous Bar Association: Kathleen Lickers, Secretary-Treasurer. Alan Pratt Law Firm: Alan Pratt, Lawyer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, December 10, 2007, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-30, An Act to establish the Specific Claims Tribunal and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Christopher Devlin, Kathleen Lickers and Alan Pratt made statements and answered questions.


At 4:26 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:30 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Chief Fabian Alexis, Allan Donovan, Tom Waller, Chief Rosalind Callihoo and Doris McDonald made statements and, with Raymond Chaboyer, answered questions.


At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Bonnie Charron
Clerk of the Committee

2008/04/10 11:39 a.m.