Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 57
Tuesday, March 27, 2007

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 9:02 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Art Hanger, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Larry Bagnell, Patrick Brown, Joe Comartin, Carole Freeman, Art Hanger, Hon. Marlene Jennings, Derek Lee, Réal Ménard, Rob Moore, Daniel Petit and Myron Thompson.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst; Dominique Valiquet, Analyst.


Witnesses: Motivated Young People for a Strong Canada: Faytene Kryskow, Director; Donny Melanson, Member, Vancouver. Canadian Federation for Sexual Health: Andrea Cohen, President of the Board of Directors; Linda Capperauld, Executive Director. Egale Canada: Kaj Hasselriis, Executive Director; Gregory Ko, Member. Regroupement québécois des Centres d'aide et de lutte contre les agressions à caractère sexuel: Carole Tremblay, Spokesperson; Michèle Roy, Spokesperson. Canadian AIDS Society: Nichole Downer, Programs Consultant; Kim Thomas, Director of Programs.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, October 30, 2006, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-22, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (age of protection) and to make consequential amendments to the Criminal Records Act.

Faytene Kryskow made a statement and, with Donny Melanson, answered questions.


Andrea Cohen made a statement and, with Linda Capperauld, answered questions.


Kaj Hasselriis and Gregory Ko each made a statement and answered questions.


Carole Tremblay and Michèle Roy each made a statement and answered questions.


Nichole Downer made a statement and, with Kim Thomas, answered questions.


At 11:06 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Diane Diotte
Clerk of the Committee

2007/03/27 2:50 p.m.