Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 85
Thursday, May 17, 2007

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 11:03 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Paul Crête, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Thierry St-Cyr, Hon. Robert Thibault, Mike Wallace and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Hon. Maurizio Bevilacqua for Hon. Robert Thibault, Hon. Scott Brison for Hon. John McCallum, Hon. Michael D. Chong for Diane Ablonczy, Jacques Gourde for Mike Wallace and Bev Shipley for Diane Ablonczy.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Advisor; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Office of the Auditor General of Canada: Sheila Fraser, Auditor General of Canada; John Rossetti, Assistant Auditor General; Vicki Plant, Principal Director; Brenda Siegel, Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its briefing on tax havens and tax avoidance.

Sheila Fraser made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 12:22 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:58 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, May 15, 2007, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-52, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 19, 2007.

By unanimous consent, on motion of Dean Del Mastro, it was agreed, — That in relation to Bill C-52, at 11:59 p.m. on Wednesday, May 30th, 2007, if not already disposed of at the committee stage, C-52 shall be deemed adopted without amendment and the Chair ordered to report the Bill back to the House.


On motion of Michael Chong, it was agreed - That the Committe now adjourn.


At 13:12 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2007/05/17 4:41 p.m.