Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 83
Tuesday, May 15, 2007

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 11:03 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Paul Crête, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Thierry St-Cyr, Hon. Robert Thibault, Mike Wallace and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Dave Batters for Diane Ablonczy and Hon. Joe McGuire for Hon. John McCallum.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal Analyst; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Barbados Private Sector Association: Ben Arrindell. Canadian Labour Congress: Erin Weir, Economist. As an individual: Brigitte Alepin, Chartered Accountant, Fiscalist. Laval University: André Lareau, Professor. University of Toronto: Walid Hejazi, Professor, International School of Business, Rotman School of Business. Department of Finance: Brian Ernewein, General Director, Tax Legislation Division, Tax Policy Branch; Lawrence Purdy, Senior Chief, Tax Legislation Division, Tax Policy Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to a briefing on tax havens and tax avoidance.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 12:22 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:44 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.


At 1:57 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2007/05/15 4:21 p.m.