Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 77
Thursday, April 19, 2007

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 11:02 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Paul Crête, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Thierry St-Cyr, Hon. Robert Thibault, Mike Wallace and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce: Sonia Baxendale, Senior Executive Vice-President, Retail Markets. Competition Bureau: Richard Taylor, Deputy Commissioner, Civil Matters Branch. National Bank of Canada: Michel Tremblay, Senior Vice-President, Personal Banking and Wealth Management. Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada: Heather H. Black, Assistant Commissioner (PIPEDA). Royal Bank of Canada: Jim Westlake, Group Head, Canadian Banking. Toronto Dominion Bank: Tim Hockey, Co-Chair, TD Canada Trust. Bank of Nova Scotia: Christopher Hodgson, Executive Vice-President and Head of Domestic Personal Banking, Senior Executive Office - Domestic Personal Banking. BMO Bank of Montreal: Maurice A.D. Hudon, Senior Executive Vice-President, Personal and Commercial Banking Canada. Credit Union Central of Canada: David Phillips, President and Chief Executive Officer. UseMyBank: Joseph Iuso, Chief Executive Officer; Brian Crozier. Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now (ACORN): Evan Soikie, Board Member, Chair, Ottawa Chapter. VisionCraft Development Corporation: Susan Ransom, Chief Operating Officer, Cheque Security Specialist. Retail Council of Canada: Peter Woolford, Vice-President, Policy Development and Research.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its briefing on automated teller machine fees and electronic payments.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 12:54 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:10 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 2:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2007/04/23 11:36 a.m.