Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 7
Tuesday, May 30, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Yvan Loubier, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Michael Savage, Thierry St-Cyr, Hon. Garth Turner and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance.


Witnesses: Department of Finance: Barbara Anderson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Federal-Provincial Relations & Social Policy Branch; Serge Dupont, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch; Bob Hamilton, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Tax Policy Branch; Paul-Henri Lapointe, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch; Gérard Lalonde, Senior Chief, Tax Policy Branch; Serge Nadeau, General Director, Analysis, Tax Policy Branch; Serge Dupont, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch; Pierre Mercille, Chief, Sales Tax Division / Tax Policy Branch / Legislation Policy.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, May 19, 2006, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-13, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on May 2, 2006.

The Chair called Clause 1.


The Minister of Finance made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 5:37 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/06/01 9:54 a.m.