Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 45
Thursday, October 26, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 1:02 p.m. this day, in the Ballroom "Admiral", Radisson Admiral Hotel, Toronto, Ontario, the Vice-Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Michael Savage, Mike Wallace and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee. Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Greater Kitchener Waterloo Chamber of Commerce: Linda Korgemets, Senior Management, Tax, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP; Mr. Art Sinclair, Policy Analyst. Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers' Association: Mark A. Nantais, President. Hospital for Sick Children: Janet Rossant, Chief of Research. Greater Toronto Airports Authority: John Kaldeway, President and Chief Executive Officer. Greater Toronto Hotel Association: Rod Seiling, President. Canadian Plastics Industry Association: Atul Sharma, Chief Economist and Executive Director, Ontario. Directors Guild of Canada: Pamela Brand, National Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer. David Baile, Secretary-Treasurer. Campaign 2000: Laurel Rothman, Director of Social Reform & National Coordinator, Family Service Association of Toronto. Toronto Financial Services Alliance: Janet Ecker, Executive Director. Nishnawbe Aski Nation: Alvin Fiddler, Deputy Grand Chief. Campaign Against Child Poverty: Caroline Di Giovanni, Director. Canadian Children's Rights Council: Grant Wilson, President. C.D. Howe Institute: Finn Poschmann, Director of Research.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 2:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 4:01 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/11/03 11:40 a.m.