Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 42
Wednesday, October 25, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:01 a.m. this day, in the Duquesne/Jonquière, Hôtel Delta Québec, Québec, Québec, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Pierre A. Paquette, Michael Savage, Thierry St-Cyr and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Steven Blaney for Mike Wallace and Luc Harvey for Rick Dykstra.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Genome Canada: Martin Godbout, President and Chief Executive Officer. Mouvement pour les arts et les lettres: Bastien Gilbert, Chief Executive Officer, Regroupement des centres d'artistes autogérés du Québec; Lorraine Hébert, Executive Director, Regroupement québécois de la danse. Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists of Quebec: Diane Francoeur, President. Merck Frosst Canada Inc.: Christian Blouin, Director, Public Health Policy and Government Relations. Quebec Federation of University Students: Trevor Hanna, Vice-President, Federal and International Affairs. Canada's Research-Based Pharmaceutical Companies (Rx&D): Gilles Gagnon, President and Chief Executive Officer, Aeterna Zentaris Inc.; Brigitte Nolet, Vice-President, Federal Affairs. Union des artistes: Jack Robitaille, Vice-President. Regroupement des cégeps de la région du Québec: Denis Juneau, President. University of Sherbrooke: Luc Godbout, Professor. Chambre de commerce de Québec: Denis Patry, Président; Alain Kirouac, General Director. Fédération des chambres immobilières du Québec: Pierre Langlois, Director of Government operations. Confédération des syndicats nationaux: Pierre Patry, Treasurer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

At 10:28 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:32 a.m., the sitting resumed.


At 11:54 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/26 11:46 a.m.