Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 39
Monday, October 23, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:01 a.m. this day, in the "Fort William" Ballroom A, Fairmont Newfoundland, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Michael Savage, Mike Wallace and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee. Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Atlantic Canada Airports Association: Rob Robichaud, President and Chief Executive Officer; Patricia Devine, Executive Director. Newfoundland and Labrador Chamber of Mineral Resources: Gerry O'Connell, Executive Director. Association of Cultural Industries of Newfoundland and Labrador: Danielle Irvine, Executive Director. Newfoundland and Labrador Science Centre: Nancy Griffiths, Executive Director. Newfoundland Ocean Industries Association: Ted Howell, President and Chief Executive Officer. GrowthWorks Atlantic Ltd.: Thomas J. Hayes, President and Chief Executive Officer. Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador: Marlene Creates, Co-Chair, Board of Directors. Atlantic Policy Congress of First Nation Chiefs Secretariat Inc.: John G. Paul, Executive Director. Society of Rural Physicians of Canada: Michael Jong, President; John Rourke, Dean of the Faculty of Medecine, Memorial University of Newfoundland. St. John's Board of Trade: Ken Birmingham, Chair, Finance and Taxation Policy Committee; Mark King, Assistant General Manager, Policy and Communications. Newfoundland and Labrador Federation of Agriculture: Mervin Wiseman, President. Community Services Council Newfoundland and Labrador: Penelope Rowe, Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 10:22 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:36 a.m., the sitting resumed.


At 11:52 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/24 2:26 p.m.