Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 29
Wednesday, October 4, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:00 a.m. this day, in the Athabasca Room, Stonebridge Hotel, Fort McMurray, Alberta, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Michael Savage, Thierry St-Cyr and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Mike Wallace for Hon. Garth Turner.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Alberta Association of Colleges and Technical Institutes: Sam Shaw, President, Alberta Council of Presidents; Doug MacRae, Executive Director. Canadian Booksellers Association: Steve Budnarchuk, President. Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo: Melissa Blake, Mayor. Fitness Industry Council of Canada: David Hardy, President. Northern Lights Health Region: Bernie Blais, Chief Executive Officer. Telusworld of Science-Calgary: Bill Peters, President. Mothers On The Rampage: Beverley Smith, President. University of Alberta: Indira Samarasekera, President. Fort McMurray Chamber of Commerce: Mike Allen, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 10:29 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:35 a.m., the sitting resumed.


At 11:22 a.m., Massimo Pacetti took the Chair.


At 11:26 a.m., Brian Pallister took the Chair.


At 11:58 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/11/29 11:27 a.m.