Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 28
Tuesday, October 3, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 1:02 p.m. this day, in the Plaza A & B Ballroom, Hyatt Regency Hotel, Vancouver, British Columbia, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Michael Savage, Thierry St-Cyr and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Mike Wallace for Hon. Garth Turner.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Forest Products Association of Canada: Avrim Lazar, President and Chief Executive Officer. BC Child Care Advocacy Forum: Rita Chudnovsky, Facilitator. First Call: BC Child and Youth Advocacy Coalition: Michael Goldberg, Chairperson. Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Canada: John Tak, President and Chief Executive Officer. Muscular Dystrophy Canada: Ken M. Kramer, Chair. British Columbia Council for International Cooperation: Michael Loo. Tenants' Rights Action Coalition: Martha J. Lewis, Executive Director. Results Canada: Blaise Salmon, President . Genome British Columbia: Alan Winter, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 2:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/13 10:43 a.m.