Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 26
Monday, October 2, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:30 a.m. this day, in the Suite "A", Auberge High Country Inn, Whitehorse, Yukon, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Thierry St-Cyr and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Hon. Larry Bagnell for Hon. John McKay and Mike Wallace for Hon. Garth Turner.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: City of Fort St. John: Jim Eglinski, Mayor. Council of Yukon First Nations: Andy Carvill. Yukon Conservation Society: Karen Baltgailis, Executive Director; Lewis Rifkind, Energy Coordinator. Tourism Industry Association of the Yukon: Rod Taylor, President. Northern Native Broadcasting, Yukon: Shirley Adamson, Chief Executive Officer; James Stanley, Chairman, Board of Directors. Yukon College: Stu Mackay, Dean , Professional Studies. Yukon Childcare Association: Debbie Throssell, Conference Coordinator. Yukon Literacy Coalition: Sierra van der Meer, Communication Coordinator. Canadian IPY National Committee: Ian Church, Chair. Yukon Historical and Museums Association: Rebecca Jansen, Executive Director. Yukon Council on Aging: Roberta Morgan, President. Association of Yukon Communities: Doug Graham, President. MacBride Museum: Patricia Cunning, Executive Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


It was agreed, — That the full brief of the Northern Native Broadcasting, Yukon be entered as evidence for this meeting.


By unanimous consent, it was agreed, — That briefs be allowed to be distributed in English for purposes of this meeting only.


At 10:54 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:00 a.m., the sitting resumed.


At 12:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/13 10:40 a.m.